Coronavirus Latest information and updates
Feedback Help us to improve our website

Staying safe in hot weather. Find out how to protect yourself and others in the summer months.

Composting is nature's way of recycling. It is a great way to turn fruit, vegetable and garden trimmings into a dark, crumbly soil conditioner. Composting can:

  • Save you money by replacing shop-bought compost
  • Help your garden by improving the fertility of your soil
  • Save water by helping the soil hold moisture
  • Help the environment by:
    • recycling valuable organic resources
    • extending the life of our landfill sites

Torbay residents can buy a range of composting equipment at a reduced price.

  Buy composting equipment Opens in a new window

Recycle Devon's how to compost guide can help you to get the most from composting.

You can also take garden waste to the recycling centre. Make sure you book a slot before you go.

Garden waste collection points

Monthly garden waste collection points operate in Brixham and Torquay every month between February and November. Torbay residents can take their household garden waste to the collection point between the hours of 9am and 1pm. The waste is then sent for composting.

Restrictions: These services are for household garden waste only. No plastic bags, soil, rubble or branches over 10cm (4 inches) in diameter. No commercial waste. Please do not deposit any waste at the sites outside of the dates and times listed below. Anyone seen doing so is likely to be prosecuted for fly tipping.

 

Brixham Service

Venue: Brixham College, Higher Ranscombe Road, Brixham

Date: First Sunday of every month

Time: 9:30am to 1:30pm

  • Sunday 8 May (second Sunday)
  • Sunday 5 June
  • Sunday 3 July 
  • Sunday 7 August
  • Sunday 4 September
  • Sunday 2 October
  • Sunday 6 November

Torquay Service

Venue: Torquay Town Hall car park

Date: Second and fourth Sunday of every month

Time: 9:30am to 1:30pm

  • Sunday 15 May (third Sunday)
  • Sunday 29 May (fifth Sunday)
  • Sunday 12 June 
  • Sunday 26 June
  • Sunday 10 July
  • Sunday 24 July
  • Sunday 14 August
  • Sunday 28 August
  • Sunday 11 September
  • Sunday 25 September
  • Sunday 9 October
  • Sunday 23 October
  • Sunday 13 November
  • Sunday 27 November

Book a collection

If you are struggling to take garden waste to the recycling centre we can collect it for you for a small fee. This service is for household garden waste only. We won't collect plastic waste, soil, rubble or branches over 10cm (4 inches) in diameter.

From 1 December we won't be taking cash or cheque payments. You must book your collection online using a debit or credit card.

  Book a garden waste collection

If you need help making a booking call SWISCo on 01803 701316.

How much it costs

It costs £12 for up to 8 bags (standard black bin bag size) and £1 for every extra bag (standard black bin bag size).