These can be held at any time between scheduled elections, usually when a councillor resigns or dies. The last by-election was held on 14 December 2017 for the Watcombe ward.

Results for local by-elections held in Torbay are available to view and download.

Watcombe - 14 December 2017
Candidate Description (if any) Number of votes
LONG Swithin Liberal Democrats 655 Elected
MADDOCK Daniel The Conservative Party Candidate 355
NEAL Julia Elizabeth Labour Party 121
TAYLOR Eleanor Green Party 17
Eligible Electorate: 5149
Turnout: 22.30%