The Safeguarding and Welfare Requirements

Designed to help settings provide a safe and stimulating environment for the children. It clearly outlines the settings legal duties with regards to the policies and procedures that underpin the day to day running of early year’s settings. The safeguarding and welfare requirements are given legal force by regulations made under section39 (1)(b) of the childcare act 2006. Ofsted has regard to the Early Years Foundation Stage when carrying out inspections and reports on the quality and standards of provision. Ofsted may issue a notice to improve in respect of any failure to meet a requirement mentioned in the document. It is an offence for a provider to fail to comply with a welfare requirement.

The EYFS has four overarching principles:

  • A Unique Child
  • Positive Relationships
  • Enabling Environments
  • Learning and Development

All practitioners should have an understanding of how these shape practice in Early Years settings.